Twenty-One Dutchmen Playing in D-I Regionals

By: Ryan Murphy

Danny Hrbek (Radford), Demetrius Webb (Indiana), and Adam Lee (Lipscomb) will all play in the same regional.

With the announcement of the 2015 NCAA Tournament field on Monday, 21 former and current Albany Dutchmen players on 13 teams saw their squads selected for regional play. 11 of the 16 regions in the tournament feature at least one Dutchmen player.

The most notable region for Dutchmen is the Nashville Regional, which contains ten Dutchmen on three teams. The regional, hosted by Vanderbilt, will feature Radford, Indiana, and Lipscomb. Radford’s Danny Hrbek, Kyle Zurak, and Simon Palenchar will play Indiana Hoosiers Thomas Belcher, Austin Foote, and Demetrius Webb in the first game of the tournament, while the host Commodores face a Lipscomb team containing Adam Lee, Josh Lee, Ben Lee (redshirt) and Jamie Young, who all suited up for Albany in 2014.

Two Dutchmen received national seeds, and will host regionals this weekend. Those players are Michael Bollmer from No. 3 Louisville and Josh Ferry from No. 6 Illinois. The teams earned national seeds for stellar seasons thus far, and would host a super regional should their team advance from the regional round.

Other Dutchmen, current or former, qualifying for the Tournament included: Patrick Hisle (Maryland, No.3 seed in Los Angeles Region), Ernie Clement (Virginia, No. 3 seed in Lake Elsinor Region), Mitch Cavanagh (St. John’s, No. 4 seed in Stillwater Region), Morgan Phillips (College of Charleston, No. 2 seed in Tallahassee Region), Grayson Lewis (Rice, No. 2 seed in Houston Region), Zach Remillard and Anthony Marks (Coastal Carolina, No. 2 seed in College Station Region), Mike Triller (Clemson, No. 3 seed in Fullerton Region), and Michael Fitzsimmons (Ole Miss redshirt, No. 2 seed in Los Angeles Region).

Regional play begins across the country on Friday, and Super Regional play begins the following Friday. The Dutchmen wish all former and current players the best of luck in NCAA postseason play. The Dutchmen also congratulate Nick Jewett (Trinity U.), Tyler Fries (Wilmington), Brandon Nylin (Herkimer CC), and Jake Shortslef (Herkimer CC), who all finished their seasons in World Series play in Division II, Division III, and NJCAA Division III respectively. Jewett led his team with a home run in an elimination game, going 3-for-5 with two RBIs and two runs scored. Nylin also made a major impact for Herkimer, earning a victory in the team’s first game.

Search Archive »

Browse by Month »

April 2024
March 2024
August 2023
July 2023
June 2023
May 2023
April 2023
August 2022
July 2022
June 2022
May 2022
April 2022
March 2022
January 2022
September 2021
August 2021
July 2021
June 2021
May 2021
March 2021
May 2020
March 2020
August 2019
July 2019
June 2019
May 2019
April 2019
March 2019
February 2019
January 2019
November 2018
October 2018
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
January 2018
December 2017
September 2017
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
August 2016
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
October 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
October 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
Ignite Business Solutions